Various Artists - An Austin Rhythm And Blues Christmas (1983), A Real Christmas Gem From the Record Room

Gems From the Record Room:  This collection of some of Austin's finest was originally released in 1983 as an LP on a local label (Austin Records), and re-released three years later on Epic, the CD came in 2001. The LP and CD are long out of print, but the MP3 download is still available at Amazon and iTunes. When you've heard one too many traditional Christmas carols, this album is the perfect antidote.

Golden Rose, on Amazon, writes: This is a fun Christmas collection that captures the early Austin, TX blues sound, including the Fabulous Thunderbirds and Lou Ann Barton. The mysterious Paul Ray is indeed a lounge singer; he used to front Paul Ray and the Cobras with Denny Freeman and Stevie Ray vaughn on guitars. Ray was also a great DJ on KUT with "Twine Time," playing all kinds of lost R&B numbers.

Here is the album's tracklist:
1 Angela Strehli - Boogie Woogie Santa Claus 2:25
2 The Fabulous Thunderbirds - Merry Christmas Darling 4:22
3 Lou Ann Barton - Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree 2:04
4 Sarah Brown - My Christmas Tree Is Hung With Tears 3:06
5 Paul Ray - Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas 3:23
6 The Kaz Jazz Quartet - The Christmas Song 3:30
7 The Fabulous Thunderbirds - (Rockin') Winter Wonderland 2:08
8 Lou Ann Barton - Please Come Home For Christmas 4:00
9 Charlie Sexton - Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me) 2:03
10 Angela Strehli - Sweet Little Baby Boy 3:53
11 Paul Ray - Let's Make Everyday A Christmas Day 3:31
12 Willie Nelson - Blue Christmas 2:37


Charlie Ricci said…
Based on the small sound clips I heard this is a real gem. I'll have to add this to my collection. Thanks for the tip.

Popular posts from this blog

Willie Nelson: That's Life (2021 Legacy); Willie Tributes the Chairman of the Board With His Second Album of Sinatra Classics, and It's a Beaut

Original Cast Recording - Girl From the North Country; Reconsidering Bob Dylan: The Man, The Myth, The Broadway Musical

Black 47 After Hours (2021), Some Very Special Invited Guests Interpret the Music of Black 47; "Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained"